Ludwig Headlines Zips' Performances at Campbell/Wright Invitational

Ludwig Headlines Zips' Performances at Campbell/Wright Invitational

Follow Zips Track & Field on Twitter (@ZipsTFCC) and Facebook


AKRON, Ohio – In its final tune-up before next weekend's Mid-American Conference Championships the University of Akron track and field team registered 12 first-place performances and 34 top-three efforts at the Campbell/Wright Invitational on Saturday, May 6, at the Lee R. Jackson Track and Field Complex.

Sophomore Matt Ludwig (Chardon, Ohio) headlined the Zips' showings on the day recording the second-best jump in the country this spring in the men's pole vault eclipsing 18-8.25 (5.70m). The second-highest mark in outdoor program history also represented a personal-best mark and equaled the qualifying mark for the IAAF World Championships.

Senior Nikki Manson (Glasgow, Scotland) captured the women's high jump soaring past 5-8.25 (1.74m), while fellow senior Becky Szabo (North Olmsted) in her final home meet won the women's pole vault with a clearance of 13-2.25 (4.02m).

Sophomore Abigale Wilson (Carrollton, Ohio) went 161-6.50 (49.24m) to take the title in the women's discus.

Senior Daziah Green (Canton, Ohio) opened the winning for the Zips' women's squad on the track crossing the line first in 56.02 in the 400 meters.

Akron also benefitted from triumphs in the women's 400-meter hurdles and 200 meters, respectively, from freshman Iman Batiste (Dublin, Ohio) and senior Samia Bell (Cincinnati, Ohio). Batiste registered a career-best time of 60.93 in the 400-meter hurdles, while Bell crossed the line first in the 200 meters in 25.06.

Batiste's time represented the fourth-fastest time in outdoor program history, while redshirt junior Michalla Gordon (Wadsworth, Ohio), who finished second in the 400-meter hurdles, recorded the fifth-best time, 61.03, in the Zips' record book.

Sophomore Cody Stine (Shelby, Ohio) added another title for the Akron men jumping 6-10.25 (2.09m) in the men's high jump.

Redshirt junior Taron Slone (Columbus, Ohio) garnered the Zips' first victory on the track with a season-best time of 10.63.

Senior Sean Poholski (Barberton, Ohio) and redshirt freshman Tevin Brown (Toledo, Ohio) added triumphs in the men's 800 and 3,000 meters, respectively. Poholski ran his race in 1:53.61 before Brown posted a career-best time of 8:39.05 in the 3,000 meters.

Capping the victory total in the final event of the meet was the 4x400 relay squad of freshman Matt Blamble (Wadsworth, Ohio), Slone and senior Mike Ohiembor (Dayton, Ohio) and Miles Baldwin (Cincinnati, Ohio). The quartet posted a winning time of 3:31.20.

Following the competition on Saturday, the Zips honored the accomplishment of seniors Zach Alexander (Tiffin, Ohio), Baldwin, Bell, Alexandra Blair (Akron, Ohio), Weronika Gaudyn (Kracow, Poland), Demetris Hazly-Ward (Akron, Ohio), Daniella Johnson (Gahanna, Ohio), Hakeem Lawrence (Miami, Fla.), Ana Martin-Sacristan (Valencia, Spain), Joe Oduho (Erie, Pa.), Ohiembor, Poholski, Matt Rowland (Bellevue, Ohio), Szabo, Jailyn Twitty (Amherst, N.Y.), Keith Yohman (Brunswick, Ohio), Anthony Young (Medina, Ohio), Martin Zegarelli (Erie, Pa.), Natalie Zidd (Hinckley, Ohio) and Dan Zupan (Berea, Ohio).

The Zips now turn their attention to the MAC Championships hosted by Western Michigan beginning on Thursday, May 11, and running through Saturday, May 13. Both the Akron men's and women's squads will be seeking their seventh outdoor titles. A year ago, the Zips' men's team won the title, while the women's squad finished second after winning the title in 2015.

High Jump: Nikki Manson (1st-5-8.25/1.74m), Patricia Ortega (2nd-5-4.75/1.65m), Jackie Siefring (4th-5-4.75/1.65m), Shawnn Foster (9th-4-11/1.50m); Pole Vault: Becky Szabo (1st-13-2.25/4.02m), Eboni Hall (8th-12-2.25/3.72m), Rebecca Pietsch (9th-12-2.25/3.72m), Claire Toole (13th-11-2.50/3.42m), Mackenzie Brown (NH); Long Jump: Ana Martin-Sacristan (2nd-18-2.75/5.56m), Patricia Ortega (5th-16-11.75/5.18m); Triple Jump: Ana Martin-Sacristan (7th-33-2.75/10.13m); Shot Put: Abigale Wilson (5th-47-10.25/14.59m), Olivia Snyder (7th-43-0/13.11m); Discus: Abigale Wilson (1st-161-6.50/49.24m), Olivia Snyder (6th-141-6.25/43.14m); Javelin: Nikki Manson (3rd-127-8.25/38.92m), Shawnn Foster (7th-95-5.50/29.10m); 1,500 Meters: Tara Snipes (2nd-4:38.75), Haley Hess (4th-4:46.50), Cynthia Haas (6th-4:50.60), Elizabeth Mosier (7th-4:52.45), Morgan Buckley (9th-4:54.28), Alexandra Blair (12th-5:21.44); 100-Meter Hurdles: Patricia Ortega (2nd-14.36m), Shawnn Foster (5th-15.63); 400 Meters: Daziah Green (1st-56.02), Bailey Lack (2nd-56.75), Kiara Chatman (4th-57.06), Stephanie Hale (5th-58.46); 100 Meters: Chyna Stroud (9th-12.99); 800 Meters: Tarike Osuobeni (3rd-2:21.07), Cassidi Lovell (5th-2:23.43), Victoria Stachowski (7th-2:25.91); 400-Meter Hurdles: Iman Batiste (1st-60.93), Michalla Gordon (2nd-61.03), Sydney Stokes (3rd-65.64), Autumn Young (4th-67.18); 200 Meters: Samia Bell (1st-25.06); 4x400 Relay: Sydney Stokes, Autumn Young, Tarike Osuobeni, Cassidi Lovell (2nd-4:16.84)

High Jump: Cody Stine (1st-6-10.25/2.09m), Jacob Ross (3rd-6-6.25/1.99m), Ben Olewiller (6-6.25/1.99m); Pole Vault: Matt Ludwig (1st-18-8.25/5.70m), Matt Rowland (2nd-17-1.50/5.22m), Adam Alexander (4th-15-7.75/4.77m), Tyler Fraker (6th-15-7.75/4.77m); Long Jump: Kamar Majid (4th-21-4.50/6.52m); Discus: Phil Jagers (3rd-173-2.50/52.80m), Maurice Harris (4th-169-11.75/51.81m), Jovann Letulli (5th-160-9.75/49.02m), Kamar Majid (11th-102-1.75/31.14m), Malik Hudson (12th-90-11.25/27.72m); Javelin: Rodrigo Iglesias (2nd-195-8.75/59.66m), Brandon Hochbein (5th-157-6.50/48.02m), Preston Fillman (8th-127-6.25/38.87m); 1,500 Meters: Garrett Crichlow (3rd-3:59.65); 110-Meter Hurdles: Preston Fillman (2nd-14.58), Dylan Hochbein (4th-14.73), Elijah Johnson (5th-11.77), Kamar Majid (7th-15.83), Malik Hudson (10th-17.21); 400 Meters: Joe Harrington (3rd-49.81), Milton Greer (5th-50.67), Nick Winkler (6th-51.58), Terry Spurney (7th-51.83); 100 Meters: Taron Slone (1st-10.63), Anthony Young (4th-10.95), Keith Yohman (5th-11.00); 800 Meters: Sean Poholski (1st-1:53.61), Zach Alexander (3rd-1:54.65); 400-Meter Hurdles: Dylan Hochbein (2nd-55.71), Adam Downing (3rd-56.06), Brandon Hochbein (4th-56.16); 200 Meters: Keith Yohman (3rd-22.16), Matt Blamble (5th-22.75), Milton Greer (7th-22.83); 3,000 Meters: Tevin Brown (1st-8:39.05), Nick Campbell (3rd-8:49.37), Nick Stricklen (4th-8:49.55), Jeremiah Fitzgerald (5th-8:57.58), Eric McCabe (6th-9:13.65); 4x400 Relay: Matt Blamble, Taron Slone, Mike Ohiembor, Miles Baldwin (1st-3:31.20)

Hammer: Maurice Harris (2nd-177-8/54.16m), John Zolton (3rd-149-3/45.49m)